Content - Space

Space

Launch of "Tiangong-2", China's second space laboratory on Thursday, 15th September 2016 with «POLAR», the only non-chinese experiment onboard.

 

 

 

«POLAR» In Space

«POLAR» First photo of onboard "Tiangong-2"

«POLAR» Low Voltage Power Supply (LVPS)

«POLAR» High Voltage Power Supply (HVPS)

«POLAR» Gamma Ray Burst Polarimeter

Customer: European Space Agency (ESA)

Despite being discovered in 1960 (Vela satellites) Gamma Ray Bursts (GRBs) are still full of mystery and the production mechanism of these very intense explosions in the universe is still unknown. To validate or exclude existing models about their creation, a precise measurement of the polarisation of the GRB is essential.

«POLAR» is a highly sensitive detector using the Compton Scattering Effect to measure the polarisation of incoming photons. With its large Field of View and a detection energy up to 500 keV «POLAR» will measure the polarisation of GRB emissions using low Z material Plastic Scintillators, multimode Photomultipliers and multi-channel ASIC Front-end Electronics.

«POLAR» is scheduled for two to three years operation in space during which a large number of GRBs are expected to be measured.

Our Contribution

Construction of the «POLAR» detector, the only non-Chinese experiment onboard the Chinese space laboratory "Tiangong-2" was performed by an international collaboration project with contributions from China, France, Poland and Switzerland. Art of Technology responsibilities included:

  • Feasibility Study: investigate design of the existing front end electronics with respect to issues related to space applications in order to identify potential design errors or weaknesses and provide recommendations to increase reliability of manufacturing and overall system.
  • High Voltage Power Supply (HVPS): system reverse engineering from breadboard, system re-design, development and manufacture of the High Voltage Power Supply with 26 settable power sources on 3 prints with 300 – 500 components per board (300mm x 60mm, 6 layers).
  • Low Voltage Power Supply (LVPS): system feasibility study, design, development and manufacture of the Low Voltage Power Supply (LVPS) with 82 switchable power sources on 2 prints with 800 – 1’300 components per board (300mm x 60mm, 8 layers).
  • Component procurement and production of the EQM, QMs and FM at the partners choice of manufacturers.

NETLANDER™ in deployed configuration

NETLANDER™ SEISmometer

«SEIS-EL» Seismometer Electronics

Customer: Contraves Space AG

The NETLANDERTM mission planned to send a network of four identical landers to the surface of Mars to perform simultaneous measurements in order to study the internal structure of Mars, its sub-surface and its atmosphere.

To fulfil the mission objectives with respect to the interior, subsurface, atmosphere and ionosphere investigation of MARS, each the 4 landers was to carry a payload composed of nine instruments. With a mass of the surface modules limited to 22kg, of which only 5.2kg was allowed for scientific instruments, the ultimate goal was to estimate possible mass / volume reductions (and cost) and to provide a recommendation for the most suitable approach and technology.

Our Contribution

The Seismometer Electronics «SEIS-EL» control the legs of the measurement sphere, the internal seismic instruments and a variety of sensors. Art of Technology conducted a Feasibility Study and Technology Evaluation of the main and auxiliary controllers and motor drive electronics, including:

  • SEIS-MC and SEIS-AC modules including system analysis
  • critical properties review
  • evaluation of High Desity Packaging technologies
  • identifying IC (ASIC) technology for implementing (digital) circuits
  • review miniarturisation potential and component availability
  • identify achievable mass volume and power for FM circuits
  • analysis of development and qualification costs for FM models

The Solar Orbiter payload accommodates a set of in-situ and remote-sensing instruments, with a total payload mass of 180 kg.

The «STIX» telescope consists of an "Imager" (left) and "Detector Module" (right).

«STIX» Detector Electronics Module

Customer: Almatech Sàrl

Art of Technology, together with prime contractor Almatech Sarl, has been awarded a contract by the European Space Agency (ESA) for the design, development, production and supply of the Detector Electronics Module (DEM) to be used in the «STIX» instrument... a Swiss experiment on board Solar Orbiter, which is scheduled for launch in 2018.

The Solar Orbiter mission will address the central question of helio-physics, i.e. how does the Sun create and control the heliosphere?

Carrying the X-ray telescope «STIX», being developed and built under the direction of the University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland (FHNW), Solar Orbiter will travel to ¼ of the distance between the Earth and the Sun (closer to the Sun than any other spacecraft to date) allowing observations of the Sun with unprecedented sharpness and direct measurement of the solar wind and charged particles close to their point of origin.

Solar Orbiter will turn with the sun, allowing a certain area on the surface to be observed for extended periods of time without interruption, providing new insights into the activities of the sun and its effects on the earth, e.g. better prediction of high-energy energetic particles which can interfere with technical equipment such as radio and satellite communications on Earth. This new orbit will allow us to study the Earth side facing away from the sun and for the first time, the polar regions.

The objective of the «STIX» instrument (Spectrometer Telescope for Imaging X-ray) is to contribute to understanding the mechanisms behind the acceleration of electrons at the Sun and their transport into the interplanetary space.

«STIX» will also play a key role in linking remote-sensing and in-situ observations on Solar Orbiter with imaging spectroscopy of solar thermal and non-thermal X-ray emissions providing quantitative information on the timing, location, intensity and spectra of accelerated electrons as well as of high temperature thermal plasmas, which are mostly associated with flares or micro-flares in the solar corona and chromosphere.

3D-MID4Space

coming soon...

Inhalt - Raumfahrt

Raumfahrt

Chinas zweites Weltraumlabor "Tiangong-2" startete am 15. September 2016 mit «POLAR», dem einzigen nicht-chinesischen Experiment an Bord.

 

 

 

«POLAR» im Weltraum

«POLAR» erstes Foto an Bord "Tiangong-2"

«POLAR» Low Voltage Power Supply (LVPS)

«POLAR» Hgh Voltage Power Supply (HVPS)

«POLAR» Gamma Ray Burst Polarimeter

Kunde: European Space Agency (ESA)

Obwohl 1960 entdeckt, sind Gamma Ray Bursts (GRBs) immer noch voller Geheimnisse und der Entstehungsmechanismus dieser sehr intensiven Explosionen ist weiterhin unbekannt. Um bestehende Modelle zu validieren oder auszuschließen, ist eine genaue Messung der Polarisation des GRB erforderlich.

«POLAR» ist ein hochempfindlicher Detektor der den Compton-Streuungs-Effekt nutzt, um die Polarisation der einfallenden Photonen zu messen. Mit seinem großen Sichtfeld und einer Detektionsenergie bis 500 keV wird er eingesetzt, um die Polarisation der GRB-Emissionen mit Hilfe von niedrigen Z-Material Kunststoff-Szintillatoren, Multimode-Photomultiplier und Multi-Channel-ASIC-Front-End-Elektronik zu messen.

«POLAR» sollte zwei bis drei Jahre im Betrieb sein, während derer eine große Anzahl von GRBs gemessen werden soll.

Unser Beitrag

Der Bau des «POLAR» Detektors, dem einzigen nicht-chinesischen Experiment an Bord des chinesischen Raumlabors "Tiangong-2", wurde von einem internationalen Kooperationsprojekt durchgeführt mit Beiträgen aus China, Frankreich, Polen und der Schweiz. Der Aufgaben- u Verantwortungsbereich von Art of Technology umfasst insbesondere:

  • Machbarkeitsstudie: die Untersuchung des Designs der vorhandenen Frontend-Elektronik in Bezug auf Fragen im Zusammenhang mit Raumfahrtanwendungen, um mögliche Konstruktionsfehler oder Schwachstellen zu identifizieren und Empfehlungen, um die Zuverlässigkeit der Herstellung und des Gesamtsystems zu erhöhen.
  • Hochspannungs-Stromversorgung (HVPS): System Reverse Engineering von Breadboard, System Re-Design, Entwicklung und Herstellung der Hochspannungsversorgung mit 26 einstellbaren Stromquellen auf 3 Prints mit 300 bis 500 Komponenten pro Platte (300 mm x 60 mm, 6 Lagen ).
  • Niederspannungs-Stromversorgung (LVPS): System Machbarkeitsstudie, Design, Entwicklung und Herstellung von Niederspannungsstromversorgung (LVPS) mit 82 schaltbaren Stromquellen auf 2 Prints mit 800 - 1'300 Komponenten pro Platte (300 mm x 60 mm, 8 Lagen).
  • Component Beschaffung und Produktion der EQM, QMs und FM.

NETLANDER™ in entfalteter Konfiguration

NETLANDER™ SEISmometer

«SEIS-EL» Seismometer-Elektronik

Kunde: Contraves AG

Die NETLANDERTM Mission plante vier identische Lander zur Oberfläche des Mars zu schicken, um simultane Messungen der inneren Struktur des Mars, dessen Untergrund und Atmosphäre durchzuführen.

Um die Missionsziele in Bezug auf innere Struktur, Untergrund, Atmosphäre und Ionosphäre des Mars zu erfüllen, wurde jeder der 4 Lander mit einer Nutzlast von neun Instrumenten ausgerüstet. Mit einer Masse der Lander beschränkt auf 22 kg (davon nur 5,2 kg für wissenschaftliche Instrumente) war das Ziel, mögliche Senkungen (Masse, Volumen und Kosten) zu schätzen und eine Empfehlung für den am besten geeigneten Ansatz und die beste Technologie zu liefern.

Unser Beitrag

Die Seismometer-Elektronik steuert die Beine der Messkugeln, die internen seismischen Instrumente und eine Vielzahl von Sensoren. Art of Technology untersuchte in einer Machbarkeitsstudie und technologischen Auswertung die Haupt- und Hilfssteuerungen und die Motorantriebselektronik für die Seismometer-Elektronik, einschliesslich:

  • SEIS-MC- u. SEIS-AC-Module einschliesslich Systemanalyse
  • Rezension der kritischen Eigenschaften
  • Bewertung der High Density Packaging (HDP) Technologien
  • Miniarturisations-Potenzial & Komponentenverfügbarkeit prüfen
  • ASIC Technologien für die Implementierung (digitaler) Schaltkreise
  • erreichbare Masse, Volumen & Energie für die FM-Schaltungen
  • Analyse der Entwicklungs- u. Qualifizierungskosten für FM-Modelle

Der Solar Orbiter bietet Platz für In-situ- und Fernerkundunginstrumente mit einer Gesamtnutzlastmasse von 180 kg.

Das STIX-Röntgenteleskop bestehend aus dem "Imager" (links) und dem Detektormodul (rechts). (Bild: FHNW)

«STIX» Detektor-Elektronikmodul

Kunde: Almatech Sàrl

Art of Technology hat zusammen mit dem Hauptauftragnehmer Almatech einen Vertrag der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation (ESA) für die Konzeption, Entwicklung, Herstellung und Lieferung eines Detektor-Elektronikmoduls (DEM) erhalten. Dieses Modul wird in einem Spectrometer-Teleskop für Röntgenstrahltomographie «STIX» verwendet, ein Schweizer Experiment (eines von zehn) an Bord des Solar Orbiters, dessen Start in 2018 geplant ist.

Die Solar Orbiter-Mission soll die zentrale Frage der Heliophysik beantworten: Wie erzeugt und steuert die Sonne die Hemisphäre?

Die Raumsonde wird sich der Sonne bis auf 45 Millionen Kilometer nähern (¼ der Entfernung zwischen Erde und Sonne) näher als jede andere zuvor und wird sich mit der Sonne drehen, wodurch ein bestimmter Teil der Oberfläche für längere Zeiträume ohne Unterbrechung beobachtet werden kann. Dies ermöglicht neue Einblicke in die Aktivitäten der Sonne und ihre Auswirkungen auf die Erde, z.B. bessere Vorhersage der hochenergetischen Teilchen, die Anlagen wie Radio- und Satelliten-Kommunikation auf der Erde stören können.

Das Röntgenteleskop «STIX», entwickelt und unter der Leitung der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz gebaut, wird Beobachtungen der Sonne mit bisher unerreichter Schärfe und direkte Messungen der Sonnenwinde und geladenen Teilchen in der Nähe ihres Entstehungsorts ermöglichen. Die neue Umlaufbahn erlaubt zum ersten Mal, die Polarregionen der Sonne zu studieren.

Ziel des «STIX» Experiments ist, zum Verständnis der Mechanismen hinter der Beschleunigung von Elektronen an der Sonne und deren Transport in den interplanetaren Raum beizutragen.

Das STIX-Instrument spielt eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Verknüpfung von Fernerkundungs- und In-situ-Beobachtungen im Solar Orbiter mit Imaging-Spektroskopie von thermischer und nicht-thermischer Röntgenstrahlung der Sonne. Diese geben quantitative Informationen über den Zeitpunkt, den Ort, die Intensität und das Spektrum beschleunigter Elektronen und Hochtemperatur-Plasmen, die meist mit Flares oder Mikro-Flares in der Sonnenkorona und Chromosphäre in Verbindung stehen.